Update: “Seven Pillars of Wisdom” will be released on April 1, 2022 on Centaur Records! Stay tuned for more info.

Press coverage of Seven Pillars of Wisdom can be found here.

About the album: Schuyler was a mixed-race composer, pianist, and journalist whose works have not been recorded or published, in large part due to her early death in the Vietnam War. Written in 1964-65, Seven Pillars of Wisdom was performed by Schuyler during her lifetime, but the manuscript pages have remained scattered amongst archive boxes since her untimely death. I reassembled and transcribed the full work, using Schuyler’s combination of handwritten musical notation and performance instructions. Inspired by T.E. Lawrence’s book of the same title, this hourlong work includes a prologue, seven movements, and an extended epilogue. Perhaps also influenced by Schuyler’s experiences reporting on war crimes in the Congo, Seven Pillars explores challenging ideas about conflict, violence, and faith through interwoven themes spelled with her own musical alphabet. It is my hope that this recording will inspire a renewed interest in Schuyler’s life and music, which has been almost entirely unheard since her death in 1967.

A special thank you to all of the donors who made this recording possible! I’m excited to be able to share that we have reached our fundraising goal of fully covering the $3500 cost of recording and distribution.

  • Jason Andrighetti
  • Garry Anthony
  • Frank Bernhardt
  • Peggy Chancellor
  • Sarah Creel
  • Jill Eaton
  • Martin Gething
  • Patrick Hanudel
  • Olin Jenkins
  • Lewis Knudsen
  • Philip Lesh
  • Lanneau Lide
  • Keith Masterson
  • L. Morris
  • Michael Parnell
  • Elisabeth Ramirez
  • Jessie Smith
  • Crevon Tarrance
  • Brooke Tolbert
  • Jill Vandermeulen
  • Melody Whitworth
  • Geneva Wilkins
  • E.M. Williams

Many thanks to Jaye Ingram for providing his services as recording engineer and to Shandon Presbyterian Church in Columbia, SC for allowing me to record on their Steinway piano.